Monday, July 8, 2013

It's Monday! What Are You Reading?!

We've just arrived home late last night after a ten day trip. I brought home an astounding 225 books from the library conference and I found a huge stack of books on the kitchen table that must have arrived while I was gone. 

So, I'll save the mind-boggling photos of books obtained last week until I can actually unpack and wake up. For now, I'll share what I've been reading.

What I've Been Reading Last Week




Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell

From Amazon:   "David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Haruki Murakami, Umberto Eco, and Philip K. Dick."





Under the Wide and Starry Sky: A Novel
by Nancy Horan
From Goodreads: "The much-anticipated second novel by the author of Loving Frank, the beloved New York Times bestseller, this new work tells the incredible story of the passionate, turbulent relationship between Scottish author Robert Louis Stevenson and his wild-tempered American wife, Fanny."







The Mouse-Proof Kitchen
by Saira Shah

From Kirkus Reviews:  "When Anna, a chef by profession, discovers she’s pregnant, she prepares to leave dreary London behind and move to idyllic Provence, France, with her husband, Tobias, and her lovable baby-to-be. But she’s suddenly forced to reevaluate her dreams when their baby is born less than perfect. Little do Anna and Tobias know that the change in plans sparked by Freya’s birth is the beginning of an incredible journey of the heart. Along the way, they discover that there truly is no such thing as a mouseproof kitchen, and though life sometimes gets a little messy, it’s the messy bits that give it meaning."







The Other Typist: A Novel
by Suzanne Rindell
From Kirkus Reviews: "Take a dollop of Alfred Hitchcock, a dollop of Patricia Highsmith, throw in some Great Gatsby flourishes, and the result is Rindell’s debut, a pitch-black comedy about a police stenographer accused of murder in 1920s Manhattan.... A deliciously addictive, cinematically influenced page-turner, both comic and provocative."





It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is where we share what we read this past week, what we hope to read this week…. and anything in between!  This is a great way to plan out your reading week and see what others are currently reading as well… you never know where that next “must read” book will come from! I love being a part of this and I hope you do too! As part of this weekly meme Book Journey loves to encourage you all to go and visit the others participating in this meme. 

20 comments:

  1. That is quite a haul!

    I really liked The Mouse proof Kitchen, it is a little strange but compulsive

    Treat yourself kindly this week!

    Shelleyrae @ Book 'd Out

    ReplyDelete
  2. My son loved Cloud Atlas. I hope to see the film and maybe read the book too. Hope you are enjoying it.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I started Mouse-Proof Kitchen just before I left for a ten-day holiday. I couldn't find a spot in my luggage to put this book, so I have been waiting all this time to come back to it!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Cloud Atlas is a rich book. I'm trying to read it very slowly.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Well, that's some haul you have upcoming for us!!

    The Other Typist has me intrigued...

    I hope you enjoy your reading week :-)

    My Book Bubble

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm reading My Education by Susan Choi. Love Cloud Atlas! How did you like The Other Typist? I've been wondering about that one.

    ReplyDelete
  7. The second time today I've seen The Mouse Proof Kitchen, sounds very interesting. Have a great week.

    ReplyDelete
  8. The Other Typist is excellent so far (I'm only about four chapters in.)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Yes, I really like Mouse Proof Kitchen, too. Odd, really, that I'm reading so many novels at one time. No nonfiction right now.

    ReplyDelete
  10. I really like the looks of The Other Typist. Curious about your opinion on it. Have a great week!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Holy moses, can't wait to see all of the books you scored!!

    Have a great week :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. Haven't heard of these! Hope you enjoy them all!

    Here's my Monday Wrapup

    Have a GREAT day!

    Old Follower :)

    ReplyDelete
  13. Well, that sort of all certainly may motivate me to get to a library conference! Wow. How did you even get them all home? You're set for the whole year!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Yes, you must go to a library conference! I had an amazing time!

    ReplyDelete
  15. Wow!!! I cant wait to see all the books you scored. You are set for a long time now!

    ReplyDelete
  16. Great list! Hope you have a great week!

    ReplyDelete
  17. 225 books? Unbelievable. Hope you had a good trip!

    ReplyDelete
  18. I've been wanting to read Cloud Atlas for the longest time! Today, I'm hoping to finish Classical Reading in Anthropology and Lynda Barry's What it Is. I can't wait to see the pictures of your loot.

    ReplyDelete
  19. I'm reading The Other Typist now too. Good stuff!

    ReplyDelete
  20. Amazing, Deb! how did you travel with that many books?
    I just got told off from a book promo co. for not posting enough of their expected reviews, so I don't know which publishers you have that promo that many w/o a problem! Would be nice to know them =) My stack of 19 doesn't seem too bad to me at this moment =)) !!

    ReplyDelete

Comments, comments, comments! How I love comments! (And followers, too, if you want to make me even happier!)